My Running Club and Why I Love It

Posted: November 19, 2012 in The Random Stuff
Tags: , , , , , , ,

A little over a year ago I realized that I only knew a few people that shared my passion for running. I wanted to be able to connect with people who had the same mentality as I do. I came up with the idea to create a Facebook group for my few runner friends. A forum for us to share our stories, ask for advice, and learn from each other. It was a private group (to keep out the spammers) but anyone was allowed to invite others. I had no real expectations for the group or what it would become. I just wanted to be able to talk to people like me.

Even in the early stages, it was a fun crowd. We finally had people we can relate to. In time the group started to grow. Whether they were a 5k hopeful or an ultra runner, they were all welcome. It seemed like every week or so a new person was added. Connections were made and friendships started to blossom. Since many of us live in southeastern Michigan many of us started doing races together. The biggest event we had so far was this September at Run Woodstock. There were about 10 of us out there. We had a few doing the half marathon, 2 people doing their first 50k races, me doing my first 50 miler, and one taking a shot at his first 100 miler. Scott (doing the 100) and his pacers and crew came from Chicago to join us. It was a truly amazing experience. Not only were many of us doing distances we never thought possible, but we had a chance to get together and finally meet.

I’ve watched my friends evolve as runners, becoming faster, stronger, healthier, and happier. I love witnessing these changes and I can’t help but wonder that if it wasn’t for our group, where would we be? Would any of us be at the level we are now?

The group now has about 75 members from all over the US as well as the UK, Australia, and New Zealand. I am inviting all of you out there to be a part of our team. If anyone reading this would like to join, just let me know. I will be happy to add you. You may be able to request an invite by clicking here. Thanks to all of you for reading and showing your support.

Tim

Comments
  1. IowaTriBob says:

    What a great idea and congrats on taking the initiative to get things started.

  2. Bill Dolton says:

    Fantastic idea, Tim! I joined a local running club where I live many months after I started running, and I could not believe what a difference it made. I have made so many friends, learned so much about running, and found unbelievable support and encouragement through my running club! The idea for setting up a virtual club is wonderful. I’m definitely going to request an invite! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

