Another ultra for the angels.

Posted: January 6, 2013 in Races, Running, Ultramarathons
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’ve been slacking lately. Ever since the Akron Marathon in September I have only been running 20 to 25 miles per week. This was such a drastic drop in mileage compared to the 50+ I was was doing before that. I really needed the rest though. My training for my 50 miler at Run Woodstock really wore me down and I battled 2 injuries because of it. A stress fracture on the fifth metatarsal on my left foot during my training, and a traumatic neuroma on my right foot that happened during the race. Although I have been “lazy”, I feel so much better. My body isn’t completely trashed anymore.

I was planning on taking a trip back out to California to see my brother and wanted to do a race while I was there. Last year I ran the LA Marathon with 2 of my friends and I thought about running it again. Although the race was incredible, I decided against it so I could discover some new terrain. The La Jolla Canyon Trail 50k is taking place on March 9th and that seemed like a fun challenge. I am ready for another ultra. I believe I still have it in me right now, but I still have 2 months to train for it. Every race beyond a half marathon that I’ve ever done was run with friends, but this time I’m going solo. I hope to complete it in less than 5 1/2 hours.

image

Trail map

The pics I found are absolutely breathtaking. I really hope to get a GoPro camera before then. With stunning views like these, I don’t want to miss a moment of it. During my first ultra I really didn’t take many pictures, so this time will definitely be different.

image

La Jolla Canyon Trail

Considering the terrain, I need to do some good hill training. Here in southeastern Michigan we don’t have any mountains, and the bulk of the land is very flat. I do, however, have access to a very steep sledding hill right down the road and have some aggressive hills within 10 miles of here at Bloomer Park and Stony Creek.

image

La Jolla Valley Loop

I plan on doing some hardcore hills one day, some fartleks another day, and one long run of 20+ miles each week. This will bring me back to my “ultra-self” in no time. 2 weeks before the race, I will switch to one day of hills, one day of 13 to 18 miles, and one day of cross training (legs and core). It’s a pretty simple plan.

image

Chumash Trail

I will also be doing another fundraiser for F.A.S.T. (Foundation for Angelman Syndrome Therapeutics) to help fund important research toward a cure  for Angelman Syndrome. You can sponsor me for as little as $1 here. Thank you for your support and encouragement!

Tim

Leave a Reply

