I guess I can settle for a marathon

Posted: February 25, 2013 in Marathons, Races, Running, Ultramarathons
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Last week I found out that my next race was cancelled. I was planning on flying to California to visit my brother. I planned on running the La Jolla Canyon 50k, but it ended up getting cancelled due to an issue with permits. So, I searched around for other races in the LA area that same weekend. Even if I find a 5k, I am running a race while I’m there. Well, it must have been my lucky day. There is a marathon in Santa Monica (where I’m staying) the same day the 50k was scheduled (March 9th). The Beach Jam Marathon starts in Santa Monica and runs along the ocean south to Marina Del Rey then north to the Pacific Palisades, then back to Santa Monica. I’m looking forward to the challenge of another marathon. I always enjoy the scenery, the happy runners I chat with along the way, and the sense of accomplishment that I get from races. Let’s just hope this one doesn’t get cancelled…

-Tim

Comments
  1. Choy says:

    We’re you comp’ed entry to another race or refunded your money? 50ks are nothing more than a marathon with a 5 mile cool down anyway, right? 😉

  2. runcolbyrun says:

    Nice save Tim! Sweet! Happy Running!

  3. emmaross99 says:

    Glad you sounds something else to do! Would love to say ‘I’ll settle for a marathon’ maybe one day, but for now a marathon is far enough for me!

  4. zoeforman says:

    Cancellations are annoying but just get you to look for alternatives. Race planning can be fun too. Enjoy Santa Monica we were there last May.

  5. Bonnie says:

    Glad you found a great alternative! Good luck!

  6. Why not? that sounds like fun, not the same of course, but still can be fun! 🙂

  7. Angie says:

    Awesome, the weather should be great!

  8. drishism says:

    That’s cool that you were able to find a nearby race so easily. Hope you enjoy it even if it isn’t a 50K

  9. PK Read says:

    Sounds like it will be a beautiful run! Jealous.

Leave a Reply

